Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Night of Excellence

School Captains Leilani Fleming, Ruth Miller (Principal) , Kayla Wellspring, Georgia McDonald and Dani Pozzetti (Deputy Principal)
On Monday 14 November, Yeppoon State High School celebrated the academic, cultural, community and sporting achievements of the 2016 cohort at their annual ‘Night of Excellence’. Throughout her maiden ‘Night of Excellence’ address, Principal Ruth Miller articulated her tremendous pride in the achievements of the school, including all award recipients and non-recipients who had consistently worked hard to improve throughout the year.

Luke Anderson was announced Senior Dux for 2016.  His results were simply outstanding and a result of extreme diligence and focus. Teachers made special mention of Joshua Osborne who was awarded the Agricultural Practices Subject Honours Award, acknowledging his significant and impressive improvements throughout his senior years of schooling.

Excellence in citizenship and leadership was also celebrated at the ceremony. School captain, Georgia McDonald was awarded the Prix d’Honneur for Leadership and Citizenship in recognition of her outstanding contribution to the school and wider community.  Fellow captain Kayla Wellspring was awarded a number of honours, including the Sally Urquhart Memorial Award for Leadership Excellence, for her commitment to leadership within the local community.  Special mention must also be made to the recipient of the Principal’s Award, Ryan Bowmaker, for his unwavering dedication to the school community.  

The announcement of the 2017 school leaders was eagerly anticipated. Seamus Byrt and Dana Bird were announced as school captains with Joseph Duckmanton and Jessica Gray rounding out the 2017 school leader team as vice captains.  In the Junior School, the 2017 captains Will Sanders and Emily Ede, with the vice captains being Mitchell Coomber - Tomkinson and Chloe Rutherford

The underlying theme of the evening was opportunity; the best possible opportunities for all students at Yeppoon High School. This thread was a common link between the Principal’s address, Mick Allen’s P & C President report and Georgia McDonald’s valedictory address. Mrs Miller concluded her address with her vision for every student at Yeppoon High - Learn with passion, act with courage, change the world. Undoubtedly, everyone present at the Night of Excellence witnessed many students who are definitely on track to doing just that!

Passing the baton: Georgia McDonald and Kayla Wellspring congratulating 2017 school captains Dayna Bird and Seamus Byrt.

Senior Dux Luke Anderson with Principal, Ruth Miller

Junior Dux Hayley McCann with Principal Ruth Miller

Principal’s Award recipient Ryan Bowmaker with Principal Ruth Miller

Sportsman of the Year Tom Rutherford with Councillor Nigel Hutton and Principal Ruth Miller

Award recipients Tallulah Gallie-Pfingst, Jessica Gray and Myfina Healy

Award recipients Chloe Briggs, Charmian Cronin – Stacey and Lucy Geddes